Many people think that public libraries should only provide books and should not waste their money on expensive hi-tech media, such as software, DVDs or videos.

Nowadays, a library refers not only borrowing book, but also free access to electronic resource and computer. Some people opine that libraries are providing too much emphasis on hi-tech media and they feel it's not necessary. Modernization is, in my opinion, an inevitable tendency, the public libraries could attract youths as well as have an advanced effect, by having the option of lending latest technological media. One of the main advantages of using computers or other hi-tech products is improving efficiency. It simplifies the search of information and resources for the users rather than going through hardcopy books which in turn utilizes time-consuming. The search can be done with a click of a button and access to different sources of information. For instance, videos and DVDs function as a visual means to assist people to have a first-hand experience even though those people have not physically visited or seen the objects which are introduced in the books. Thus, it is obvious that the idea of providing a platform and spending resources for technological media is completely necessary. Furthermore, magnetic and digital media can store information much longer than traditional means. It takes great care to protect books from moisture, fire or human damage, and a book in a library serves readers for only a few hundred years. In contrast, digital files, easily duplicated and restored, can perhaps last forever. Especially, with immense storage capacity, these new high – tech media can free up enormous amounts of physical space. As more libraries convert their collections to digital, they’re able to preserve historical items for future use. Overall, the usage of library resources for hi-tech media should be encouraged extensively. In conclusion, I believe that in order to serve their main purpose and survive in this new age, libraries must evolve and invest in new technologies. It is predicted that future of libraries lies in the hands of technology and if sufficient efforts are not made, they may lose their standing.