Public libraries should only provide books and should not waste their limited resources on expensive high-tech media such as software, videos or DVDs.

A library of huge collection of books and it could become a tedious task to maintain it by humans and the probability of human error is prominent. The main purpose of the libraries is to provide information through books and references. I completely agree with the statement that a library should provide computer software, video and DVDs. Firstly, although we have reached the phase where each and every person has access to the internet. However, there are many people who are unfortunate and do not have access to the internet. Secondly, if such information centre has a computer software then it become easier to find a book using these softwares and minimize the time of manual search. Thirdly, all the physical books might not be available in the library. So, if a librarian would have access to the online library which could provide a soft copy of the rare and required book then it becomes accessible to the users. This would attract a large number of members reason being the availability of numerous types of books from around the world. Fourthly, users will not only get the information from books, but also can make use of videos along with current data from the internet by sitting in one place. Lastly, Due to availability of programs the searching and monitoring of book issuing will become easier. However, there are cons as well in providing hi-tech system. There can be some people who could misuse the facility, but with proper monitoring and maintenance of data the library could be made the one place to find all the references and information. To conclude, in my opinion I completely agree with the idea of equipping a library with books as well as hi-tech software and computer for the betterment of the current and future visitors.