Many people think that interviews are not the best way to assess the suitability of a candidate for a position.

It is crucial for many companies to ensure one's fitness for a job before accepting him. Some people believe that interviews are not favourable for this, while others think that they are the best option. This essay will argue why interviews are not as precise and effective and suggest other means to estimate whether a candidate suites for a position. To begin with, interviews are the most common way to accept someone for a position for a number of reasons, including fast assessment of professional skills and ability to express them in a stressful situation like an interview. The argument goes, that if a person cannot leave a good impression straight away, he would not likely to meet job criteria in future. For instance, when a doctor, who apply for a job, fails to perform a simple procedure, it usually means he is not qualified enough for a position. Thus, interviews are claimed to access one's fitness for work fast and efficiently. Conversely, there is one substantial drawback in interviews which makes them less precise. They usually do not consider the human factor which is present in many applicants in a day of assessment. To illustrate, the candidate's results may be affected by his stress, and interviewers might make wrong conclusions regarding his professional skills. Therefore, for a better accuracy there should be a period of probation, when an employee has a chance to show his fitness to a post. This way, the human factor is less likely to influence his results. To conclude, ensuring one's suitability is vital for employers, although, despite advantages interviews possess, they are not the best way for this. The more precise and effective method, in my opinion, is probation, since human factor is likely to be excluded.