Many people think that ex-prisoners are the best ones to prevent teenagers from committing crimes.

Whether or not ex-prisoners are the most appropriate ones to narrow down juvenile delinquents has always been a controversial issue. On this question, I wholeheartedly disapprove of the above-mentioned statement. Instead, I consider schools and parents to be that vital role. First and foremost, the notion that parents must assume the responsibility of educating their offspring not to commit any offense is of paramount significance. A recent article written by Tuoi Tre indicated that a majority of young adults who commit serious crimes do not have enough parental care. Hence, parents should talk to them more frequently and listen to their daily stories in order to understand them well and give advice when necessary. Moreover, they should encourage their children to engage in community service and charities, where they can contribute good things to benefit the society. Through these platforms, they will find the joy and value of helping the disadvantaged. In addition, one should be amply aware is that schools have to fulfill these obligations. In Vietnam, we have a subject called “civic education” teaching students about Vietnam’s law and society’s ethics foundation. Furthermore, multiple secondary schools and high schools organize a workshop where police officers can deliver a speech regarding crime and the country’s regulations to the pupils. Not only does this remind them to be decent people, but this also reminds them to live their lives with integrity and morality. There is, nonetheless, another aspect of this question, namely, that offenders should be the most suitable ones. Perhaps the most plausible interpretations that accounts for this assumption is the strict punishments that they received. Opponents of my viewpoint believe that such discipline deter teenagers from committing crime. Nevertheless, I would opine that this is not an effective measure since threatening youngsters with such retribution is not a right thing to do. To recapitulate, although several people hold the view that ex-prisoners are the best ones, I would disagree with that conception. Therefore, this is schools and parents’ collective duty to educate teens not to offend.