Many people think animals should have rights but others believe they should be used for human needs

There has been a great debate the past few decades over animal rights. Some are adamant that they should be with the same human rights, while others simply believe they should be used for human needs. In this essay I will be discussing why animals can be used for humanity’s benefits but treated graciously at the same time. Since the beginning of time, animals were human’s main source of food. They are an extremely important part of a healthy nutritious diet. Proteins from animal sources are essential for muscles growth. As well as other vitamins such as omega for a healthy brain and heart. Milk is one of the main sources of calcium which forms strong bones, along with many other nutrients. Therefore, slaughtered animals should be killed quickly with the least amount of pain. And they should also be killed separately to prevent them from panicking or cause them any distress. In addition to the health benefits, animals are also used for drug testing, which help treat symptoms and hopefully cure illnesses like cancer, dementia, Alzheimer’s, and many more. Moreover, animals are used for testing vaccines for contagious diseases, like the Covid-19, which helped tremendously curb down the spread of the virus. With all of these uses being mentioned, in my opinion it’s critically important to know when the testing is causing animals to suffer and should be stopped immediately. Test subjects should be put down humanly and buried in a dignified way. Outside of labs, pets are a great source of joy for families, and are basically part of many households. Dogs, cats, fish and other types of domestic animals help children learn responsibility, kindness and love. By taking care of their pets they feel like they can form emotional connection, as well as help another being grow healthy and happy. Another type of use for animals are aid animals, which help disabled people. There are also therapy pets that help with mental health. All this proves that animals form a major part of humanity’s existence, but must be treated gracefully when used for test and research. They are lovable domestically, but are vital for our ecosystem in the wild, therefore must be reserved and treated with kindness no matter how we choose to integrate them in our lives.