DANGERS OF PROCESSED FOOD

Many processed food and beverages have a higher amount of sugar content that can lead to various health-related problems. Therefore, I believe increasing the price of those unhealthy products could affect people’s sugar consumption patterns by helping to reduce the intake noticeably. First, creating financial pressure around the food choices force most people to rethink their food and drink choices. When this happens, if these processed product costs are higher than the healthier alternatives, people tend to go for healthy and affordable options naturally in order to save money. After repeating the same action for a number of time, the majority will get used to buying them and eventually become a part of their lifestyle. Gradually, these changes will affect their overall health and reduce the chances of developing food and drink-related diseases in the future. Another benefit we will get by increasing the price of the products with higher sugar content would be people being more mindful of their consumption patterns. For example, when suddenly their familiar apple-flavored juice with higher sugar content gets more expensive comparing to the organic one, automatically they raise the question of why it is happening and will realize it is for their own good. Change in the usual pricing will help to open people's eyes to wholesome products. In conclusion, to reduce the health concerns regarding people’s food and drink choices, increasing the prices of unhealthy products will act as a great encouragement to buy more wholesome products. This will helps them to be more conscious about their consumption patterns that can prevent numerous life-threatening diseases and other health-related concerns.