Many people think advertisements are not useful for customers while others think that they are important for customers. Give your opinion.

Advertisement has been used since immemorial times (OR form time immemorial) to promote businesses, but ad campaigns seem to have proliferated lately. In this regard, critics propound that advertisement is futile for customers, but there are many who convincingly refute it, as they believe that advertising is proving efficacious and helpful to customers in multiple/ numerous/ variety of ways; hence with this dissenting opinion, we see emerging a new discourse. To be candid, I (am of the advocate/ corroborate) that ad campaigns are not only helping to create awareness among customers; they are also a prime source of revenue for publishers of mass media like newspapers, TV channels, magazines, websites, so on. Firstly, advertisements are helping to create awareness among customers about availability of any particular product or service in the market. Almost every day new products are being introduced in market or previously existing products making improvements as well. In such dense market, where competition among brands is high, advertisement tends to convey the people why an advertised product or service is superior to other alternatives currently available in market; as a result, ads influence customer’s choice to a great extent. Additionally, it informs a customer, mainly about; various features, benefits, price and use of an advertised product or service. Secondly, advertising has a remarkable ability to reach masses and educate the society. Therefore, many governments and even Non-Governmental Organizations (NGO) often take help of advertisements to reach and educate people on important social issues. In this regard, Diamer-Bhasha dam campaign is a stark example, which is run by the government to create awareness among people about the imminent scarcity of water in Pakistan. With this campaign, the government has not only succeeded to educate people, but also been able to raise billions of rupee in donations for dam construction. In conclusion, pivotal role played by advertisements in our society cannot be ignored as they not only create awareness among people, but also help educate people about social issues.