Many people, these days, are migrating from the rural areas to the urban settings for better work opportunities. However, this transition can become an underlying cause of major issues for both the places. This essay will discuss those problems and will propose measures to ameliorate the situation.

It is irrefutable fact that a plethora of villagers moving towards cities for job which leads to some threats for urban areas as well as rural places. This essay will explicit those issues and also discuss some praiseworthy measures that government can be taken. Firstly, due to the growth of migration of countryside people in metropolitan cities that caused a major problem of overpopulation and to settle this growth rate of humans in well developed locations, there is need of a lot of land to build houses, apartments and roads for more vehicles. Consequently more deforestation and air pollution occurs. For an example, a recent survey indicated that pollutants in air is at alarming rate in cities due to huge number of transports and less greenery areas which actually converted into residential homes for farming families. Finally, this movement also has adverse effect on food production. As, a handful of farmers stop to do irrigation on agriculture land and coming to cities for doing another office work to earn good source of income. This would result of decreasing the ratio of labours for cultivated land to produce adequate raw material for meal. For an instance, In Bugra village of Sangrur, a number of fertile lands are unused due to the minimal farmers strength who are currently living in urban places. To solve such issues, the government should put more emphasis on developing the agricultural areas. They should focus on generating better job opportunities in such areas so that people should not be willing to move out in search of better life. Secondly, the government should also set a threshold on the number of people entering a city according to the resources available there. For example, Canada has started a program to promote settlement in suburban areas so that Ontario province can become less populated. In conclusion, as more individuals are moving from agricultural areas to big cities, the load on natural resources is increasing and the development of rural areas is not being done. But these problems are not insurmountable, and can be tackled if the authorities start taking initiatives and take above mentioned measures.