How do you learn english? What are your methods? Are they effective?

Nowadays, English is used in many countries. Each person has a different way to study English. Learning English for me was difficult. When I was in high school, I didn't learn English carefully and barely focused on it. The usual way of learning English such as notes and learns by heart makes me unable to remember for long and can’t speak that language. I study worse than my classmates. My current method of learning English is listening to American songs, watching American movies with subtitles, watching videos, English speeches on youtube. I choose simple things to understand and speak according to easily. I look up new words with online dictionaries (longman, oxford, cambridge) I don't force myself to immediately remember new words. I look it up repeatedly when I forget the meaning, which makes it easier for me to remember that word. Besides, I self-study from the beginning the basic grammar knowledge. Although this method doesn’t help me in the lessons, it adds the simplest foundational knowledge. I think that method effective for me. I know learning English can't be good right away, I need to study hard for a long time to improve my skills gradually.