Many people still believe that riding a bicycle is the best way to get to places. What are the advantage and disadvantage of using a bicycle these days?

Many people consider that riding a bicycle is the best transport option to commute to different places. Using a bicycle certainly helps people in staying fit and it also plays a crucial role in reducing air pollution, but there are also some drawbacks to be taken into account. On the one hand, riding a bicycle offers many benefits to individual and society as well. Firstly, this work as an exercise for busy professionals and older children. For instance, it is found in a research, done by a leading health organization of India, that by riding a bicycle, a person can burn as much calories as by running on a treadmill. Therefore, it is a useful option for people who do not like to do exercise or going to the gym. Secondly, as no fuel is required to ride any bicycle so it seems the best environmental friendly transport option. Burning of fossil fuel by cars or any other vehicles is the chief reason behind global warming. On the other hand, one problem with riding a bicycle is that it is very time consuming as compared with any other vehicle. In this fast pace world, people always look for time saving options to commute to offices so that they can spend more and more time with family. Another possible issue with this is, increased risk of accidents. In most of the developing and underdeveloped countries, roads are not designed this way that a rider can commute safely in a separate lane, therefore, there is always a risk of being hit by reckless drivers of any cars or large vehicles. In conclusion, there are some benefits of riding a bicycle, but it can also lead to increased road accidents and more commute time.