Many people still believe that riding a bicycle is the best way to get places. What are the advantages and disadvantages of using bicycle these days?

Owing to increment in number of health related issues these days, there has been a radical change in type of conveyance used to travel. Due to which, people are shifting towards the traditional way of getting places, which is by bicycle. Using it as a means of transport would not only help in diminishing the pollution, but will also contribute to better health. But there are some major negative aspects too which must not be ignored like it may be of no use in emergency situations and can come out as a dangerous way of going from one place to another. Talking about the positives first, the use of bicycle would lead to eradication of pollution. Vehicles which run on fossil fuels produce Co2, which is responsible for carbon gas emissions and is harmful for the ozone layer. Moreover, the air would be clean enough to breathe which would be better for our future generations. Additionally, using bicycle would also help in improving our health. It is because of these modern transport systems that obesity is at an all time high. But with the help of bicycles, we can eliminate this problem, which in turn would not only contribute to better physical health, but will also lead to stress free life. To exemplify, a recent survey by AIMS Delhi revealed that those who use bicycle in their daily routine are less prone to mental stress and getting affected by modern lifestyle diseases. Coming to the negative impact, this way of transport can be of no use in emergency situations. For instance, if someone is getting late for a meeting or he/she needs to visit a hospital on an urgent basis, using bicycle can get them late and it can have severe repercussions. Furthermore, riding a bicycle needs a lot of training and if not trained properly, it can have hazardous after effects. This mode of transport can be more dangerous as a person would be having limited security features as compared to other types of transport like car or bus wherein seatbelt is mandatory and can help in unforeseen and dangerous situations. In fact, one of my friends died last year while using bicycle as an uncontrollable car hit him from behind. Though he was wearing a helmet, he succumbed to injuries. To conclude, even today, many of us may be interested in using bicycle to travel to places and no one can deny that it is good for the environment and our own physical and mental health. Having said that, we must also look after the side effects of using it as it may be inappropriate in emergency situations and it carries a huge concern from safety point of view.