Many people prefer to watch foreign films than locally produced films. Why could this be? Should governments give more financial support to local film industries?

In many countries, especially in developing countries, foreign movies are more popular than the locally made films. There are several reasons for this trend and the government can and should greatly contribute to promoting domestic movies for the overall progress of the industry. The main reason people prefer movies from other countries is the quality of the movie. It is often noticed that locally made films in many countries lack better plots and the characters do not have the necessary depth to touch the hearts of the audiences. Moreover, foreign films have a great variation and they are more enjoyable than the domestic films. This happens because large film industries like the Hollywood can allocate a huge budget and have talented producers and directors while films made in developing countries have a small amount to spend on a movie and do not have many talented movie makers. For instance, the type of animated movies and special effects developing countries produce these days are unimaginable in most of the developing countries and this is why movie lovers from these countries prefer to watch movies made in other countries. The poor quality of acting and low-budget filmmaking in most of the developing countries discourage the audiences to enjoy local films. In my opinion, the government should support the film industry in order to support this industry, encourage people to enjoy more domestically produced films and gain international acclimation for quality movies. Each country has some talented producers, actors and filmmakers who for the lack of financial and political support cannot bring out the best. They should be given a chance to prove themselves. No doubt big budget is required to make better quality films and the government should provide subsidiary to help local film industry progress. Government’s help for the movie industry would bring more audiences to the theatre to enjoy those films and earn more ticket money. Moreover, quality films would compete in international stages and bring fame for the country. In conclusion, the film industry in each country should be supported by the government as it would make local films popular and earn money and fame for the country.