Many people prefer to live in big cities. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages.

In recent years, numerous people move from rural areas to urban areas in order to look for better education and employment opportunities. Although there are several benefits of living in the city, its drawbacks still exist. On the one hand, there are several positive aspects of city life. Firstly, people who live in metropolitan areas are offered enormous education opportunities. In the city, there are many leading universities which have well-qualified professors who have a wide range of knowledge and have undergone intensive training in methodology. Therefore, those lecturers can adjust their teaching methods to suit students’ needs. Moreover, students in the city can access many modern facilities including smart boards, projectors, computers connected to the internet and well-equipped laboratories or library. Furthermore, city inhabitants are given various choices to get further education in education centers and institutions. As a result, city-dwellers can have lifelong learning to become well-rounded people. An additional benefit is that city inhabitants have better employment opportunities. There are diverse occupations for urban residents ranging from a carpenter, builder to high-income professions like doctor, teacher or lecturer depending on individuals’ ability, training and qualifications. They can work in different places, namely restaurants, hotels, advertising companies, foreign companies, non-government organizations or industrial zones. If they are well-trained and highly skilled employees, it is easy for them to be promoted to top positions of the company with numerous employment prospects. A further favorable aspect is that city dwellers have a much wider choice of activities that they can participate in. For example, they can go to museums, eat in exotic restaurants, attend concerts, and shop in hundreds of stores. On the other hand, there are several drawbacks of living in urban areas. One serious problem that city inhabitants have to encounter is traffic congestion. The streets in a big city are often packed with numerous vehicles like cars, taxis, buses and motorbikes. As a result, people often get stuck in traffic jams for long hours. Therefore, it is time-consuming when people commute from their home to the workplace and come back home, which makes them feel stressed or exhausted. Another disadvantage of living in metropolitan areas is the environmental pollution. Big cities are likely to be polluted with exhaust fumes emitted from motor vehicles or with toxic gases which are discharged from the factories and industrial zones. Moreover, the environment of the city is also contaminated with bacteria from garbage dump on the side of the streets. As a consequence, city inhabitants may suffer from respiratory diseases like lung cancer, tuberculosis or asthma if they breathe in those gases. In conclusion, living in a big city has both benefits and drawbacks. Therefore, people should choose to live in a place that is the most comfortable with their life.