Many people prefer to communicate with their online friends than to socialize with people in their local communities. Do you think it has more advantages than disadvantages?

Online communication is gaining popularity nowadays. It is noticeable that a increasing number of people are more willing to engage with online friends rather than persons around them. This essay will discuss why its disadvantages outweigh advantages. Certainly, making friends online has its benefits. Firstly, our views could be broadened through communicating with people from all over the world. We could be exposed to people from various cultures, regions, with different religious beliefs and colors, which is a preasured experience that could be hardly obtained by socializing with our own communities. Moreover, online communication is with far more effectiveness than real life physical engagement. For example, we have sufficient time to organize our sentences before sending them to online friends, thus possibilities of misunderstanding are reduced and effectiveness of communication is promoted. However, outstanding negative impacts of online friends should not be overlooked. One disadvantage would be that some people online are more unreliable than persons we know in real life. Because of the nature of the internet, people could pretend themselves as a completely different person with totally different personalities. For example, a piece of recent Chinese news shows that a young male, in order to date several girls at the same time, set up five social media accounts to communicate with them. Furthermore, too much online communication will lead to a lack of physical contacts due to less face to face conversations. It has been proved that a certain amount of physical contacts could help human beings maintain a healthy body and mental state, as human could obtain a sense of security and happiness through hand-shaking, cuddling, etc. Therefore, if people spent all their spare time online making friends, they might suffer from mental illnesses in the future. The last but not the least, focusing on online friends will undermine real life social skills. It is impossible to complete all daily tasks through the internet, which means eventually people need to be equipped with a certain level of interpersonal skills so that they could effectively communicate with others such as their landlord and doctors. Without those essential social skills, it will be hard to live a satisfied life only in the digital world. In conclusion, it is acknowledged that there is a trend viewing online friends as more important than people in local communities. This essay demonstrated why the negative impacts are far more significant than its benefits.