Many people prefer foreign things more than things from their own countries’, from products to culture. Is it a good or a bad thing?

In this day and age, it is a fact that more people using imported goods and learning about foreign culture. While I recognize the detrimental effects of it, I more consider it a beneficial tendency. On the one hand, there are some distinct disadvantages of it. One adverse impact of the preference to pursue foreign cultures is that it might cause misunderstanding. Due to dissimilar beliefs and conceptions, things that are normal in a country could be seen as ridiculous in others. For instance, girls wearing lolita dresses every day in Vietnam could be negatively criticized and laughed at. Additionally, a real drawback of this trend is that most imported goods have prohibitive costs. People having financial difficulty will find challenging to purchase up-to-date things, consequently leads to jealousy and even robbery. On the other hand, it is obvious that choosing foreign stuff would bring several advantages to human life. The first positive aspect is that citizens can have opportunities to get close to products with better quality. There is a well-known fact that developed countries such as the USA or Japan, usually generate unique and state-of-the-art devices, tools, and even costumes. Thanks to these things, inhabitants in other nations can enhance their living quality, become more modern and convenient. Another substantial benefit of this trend is that it encourages competitiveness in manufacturing new products. When people decide to utilize merchandise from other countries, domestic businesses will promote inventing goods with similar functions while having a more reasonable price for citizens. In conclusion, this phenomenon shows effects on both positive and negative aspects. However, I believe that its merit is superior to the other side.