A wedding day is often the most important day in a person’s life, and the wedding industry that has built itself around this occasion is worth billions of dollars. Do you feel that people spend too much money on weddings?

The perception regarding several things in life differ from one individual to another and this also applies to the wedding day that a number of people consider as the crucial day in life and therefore it is worth to spend billions of dollars celebrating this occasion. First, I think that how much money is spent on the wedding day depends on the culture and tradition of each country. For instance, people living in a demanding community have the tendency to seek the pleasure of the society they are living in and therefore, are willing to spend much more money to have the beneficial feedback and acceptance from others. In this case, they are satisfying their ego and maintaining a certain level of self-esteem. In addition, as they consider this day as the most important day in life, they believe that they should do anything to make it memorable by spending money on shows, decorations, set-ups, and a wide range of details. Whereas, I consider this ceremony as a special event to remember however, at the same time I believe that expending billions of dollars is unfair and not worth. Lots of families living in the world are suffering from hunger, are homeless and numerous children are deprived from education and from their basic needs. This amount paid on the wedding days is over-exaggerated and could be shifted to other humanitarian causes that each one of us should be part of them.