high school students should not have a part-time job

Firstly, students having a side job tend to have worse academic achievement. In fact, a job can interfere with essential study time or important extracurricular activities. Take me as an example, I was once employed as a tutor for an English teaching centre. Due to a packed timetable, I was usually fatigued and sleep-deprived, which means I could not concentrate and perform my best in classes. As a result, I started receiving poorer grades, missing my school’s required after-school activities and being stressful with finding balance with school and work. Therefore, a part-time job during adolescence is an unnecessary burden which can negatively affect high schoolers’ academic performance. Secondly, these part-time jobs fail to teach teenagers valuable skills. Indeed, since most side jobs for highschool students, which are extremely simple, can not help students advance their competence. For instance, take the cashier, which is the most common part-time job as an example. Becoming a waiter, students only need to stand at the register for a long time, process the payments and bag the customers’ goods. It is clear that most part-time jobs like the cashier, only require time and carefulness, which is not an ideal environment to practice skills comprehensively. As a result, the amount of skills high schoolers wish to obtain after holding a side job is obviously unsatisfactory.