Many people love to travel to wild and dangerous locations on vacation. What are the benefits and drawbacks of traveling to places that are ‘off the beaten track’?

In recent years, there has been a growing tendency to see more and more people prefer travelling to dangerous and wild areas on holiday. In my opinion, this trend could have both benefits and drawbacks in equal measure. There are many reasons why this trend could have positive consequences. From a social perspective, people can have a deeper insight into the natural habitat. To illustrate an example, scientists who travel to the South Pole can acquire knowledge about the polar bear's lifestyle and also conduct their studies. Moreover, travellers can also have a chance to experience different lifestyles of the local people in the isolated places that they travel to. On an individual level, this type of travel is a relatively new type of tourism, so that most people are interested in it. This type of travelling can help people to ameliorate their confidence in their abilities. Although the journey will be physically and mentally exhausting, a sense of success is something that can not be described in mere words. However, the arguments given above can be considered from the opposite angle. Firstly, it is much easier for adventure travellers to get serious injuries, which leave a legacy for the rest of their lives. In addition, travel to hostile places can be extremely dangerous. Things can go against our plans. Some travelers have died while climbing difficult mountains or exploring rare and dangerous caves. Another drawback is that some travelers can be missing or having themselves in trouble, it will be costly for the government to launch rescue operations. Furthermore, the conditions in such dangerous areas may not fit our physical health conditions and it is difficult for the survival of tourists. For example, the temperature at Sahara desert is so high and we can be exhausted because of dehydration In conclusion, although travel to rare and dangerous places is more dangerous and risky than the more traditional type of tourism, it can not be denied that this type of tourism not only bring various exciting experience to tourist but also have a positive affect to the tourism industry