Many people keep dogs and cats as companions. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of pet ownership for the animals involved and for the community as a whole.

Pets are a man’s best friend. Not only do they give a company to a lonely person but also protect the owner as well as the property. However, keeping a pet has several disadvantages ranging from the threat of diseases in the event of non-vaccination to disturbance to the neighbors. Research has proven that the company of a dog or a cat keeps psychological problems such as depression away. These animals keep a person busy and give love and affection that increase overall happiness. These animals also help fight anxiety, inactivity and encourage exercise and playfulness. In many cases, people who did not own a pet reported better blood pressure and lower cholesterol once they owned a pet. Moreover, dogs are extremely possessive of their owner as well as property. They guard the house against any external threat or interference. Thus keeping pets is very helpful for households with children or old people. However, pet ownership is not an easy job. Animals are often the source of many diseases such as asthma. The saliva and fur of a dog or a cat are a source of various diseases. Worse, a bite of a dog which is not properly vaccinated can cause life-threatening diseases as well. Keeping a check on a pet’s diseases is an extremely difficult job. Furthermore, dogs are sometimes a source of disturbance during the night. Many people have reported dog howling and barking at night as a severe form of stress. In conclusion, despite several drawbacks of keeping a pet, animals such as a dog are extremely beneficial in dealing with stresses and insecurities of a modern lifestyle. They are not only good friends but also an excellent protector from any possible threat