Many people go to university for academic study. More people should be encouraged to do vocational training because there is a lack of qualified workers such as electricians and plumbers.

It is true that many people prefer to pursue academic studies at university rather than to follow a vocational training course. While nobody can deny the need for university graduates, I totally agree that we should encourage more people to qualify as electricians, plumbers or other essential manual workers. There are two important reasons why more workers must be trained in skilled professions such as plumbing or electrical work. Firstly, those workers are important when new buildings are constructed or when existing buildings have to be renovated or simply maintained. Indeed, in many countries, a permanent maintenance staff of skilled tradesmen is employed in hospitals, schools or museums, ensuring the safety of all who use the buildings. Secondly, in some developed countries, there is an existing imbalance in the economy, resulting in graduate unemployment, while at the same time there is a shortage of skilled labour. Governments in those countries need, therefore, to work with employers to ensure that extra vocational training is provided. More people must be encouraged to attend vocational training courses. The onus is on schools to incorporate relevant subjects into the curriculum, so that not all the emphasis is placed on preparing for academic study at university. Many boys and girls are not academically inclined, but this does not mean that schools should consider them as failures. For example, workshops in schools could provide an opportunity to learn ‘hands-on skills’, adapting the theory of the physics lessons to practical applications. Parents should also help their children to choose vocational careers, explaining the good employment prospects and remuneration for manual workers with qualifications and skills In conclusion, I agree that it is vital that we encourage more people to do vocational training because without such skilled workers, society cannot function effectively.