Successful sports professionals can earn much more money than people in other important jobs. Some people think this is fully justified while others think it is unfair.

It is a very well known fact that men and women in sports make a considerably high amount of money as compared to people in other professions. While some people believe that this is fair, others feel that it is not justified. This essay agrees with the latter because the professionals in other fields contribute to the society equally. This essay will discuss both the views. Some folks say that the players represent their country at a global forum and when they succeed, they bring pride and prestige to the whole nation. Due to this, they believe that is is completely just for them to have a higher pay scale than people in other areas of livelihood. I disagree with this argument because there are many other jobs at which people's excellent achievements bring honour to the country. For example, Abdul Kalam, a renowned scientist, brought fame to India with his research in the space exploration field. On the contrary, the people who advocate that the workers in enterprises other than sports should be paid similarly say this because although sometimes not as publicized, but these people do a lot of charity work to help the society, while still managing to spend a considerable time at their job. Without the expectation of fame or recognition, these people help grow their communities. Consequently, they directly contribute towards the betterment of their fellow men in their localities. Therefore, I strongly feel that they should be rewarded justly. For example, a recent survey in the Times magazine showed that around 70% of the employees of the autonomous organisations do volunteer work in India as opposed to only 25% of the famous players. In conclusion, while some agree that it is justified for the players to be highly compensated because their accomplishments make the homeland proud, others say that people working in other sectors should also be paid at the similar level as they make an impactful contribution to the well-being of their surroundings. In my opinion, the people in non-sports areas of work should make equal salaries like the sports personnels.