Many people go abroad to travel to see what other countries look like. However, the places all around the world are looking more and more similar. What do you think is the cause of this similarity? Do you think the advantages of this effect outweigh the shortage of it?

In the age of globalization, travelling around various countries to experience cultural diversity has become an irreversible trend. However, according to some tourists, this activity is gradually less enjoyable because there is almost no difference among areas around the world. This essay will look at the factors underlying this problem and from my perspective, its drawbacks totally outweigh its positive aspects. There are a number of reasons attributing to the similarity among different countries. the most significant factor is the expansion of globalization. As the world has turned into a global village, cuisine, fashion trends or even cultural patterns from developed countries are being embraced by people in other regions as a result of rising immigration. Consequently, now we can see people in numerous areas living under the same standard, making it challenging to tell the difference among countries’ local lifestyles. Moreover, urbanization is also considered as a notable cause of this problem. The introduction of skyscrapers and commercial buildings with similar architecture has almost replaced the traditional construction and natural landscape inherent in several regions. As a result, tourists have been given the same impression when travelling to different countries, especially major developed cities. Although it can be economically advantageous for countries to become increasingly similar, this trend is extremely detrimental when it comes to cultural preservation. Every nation has their own cultural identities, which are maintained and passed down by generations of ancestors. the excessive reception of foreign culture would demolish the sacredness and preciousness of these traditional beauties to local inhabitants. Furthermore, this trend would make overseas tourism pointless since every areas are becoming the same, which leads to damaging impacts on the tourism industry in numerous countries. To recapitulate, the similarity among cultures and landscapes of different countries can be contributed by several factors. And from my point of view, the shortages in cultural maintenance and tourism of this trend have completely surpassed its benefits.