Many people find it hard to balance their work with other parts of their lives. What are the reasons for this? How can this problem be overcome?

Numerous individuals find it difficult to maintain work and personal life balance. This essay will discuss about the causes of imbalance in work-life equation and propose possible solutions to this. With regards to the cardinal factors for no work-life balance, an important one to consider is the substantial increase in work pressure. This is because of majority of organizations becoming professional service providers, delivering promised projects to the clients before the deadline has become crux of the business. For instance, during the last quarter of financial year end, every employee will be involved in filing tax returns for various clients across the globe by working extra hours, which reduces his family or personal time. To combat this problem, employee should learn the trait of professionalism; this will help them to differentiate work and personal life which are equally important. As a result, there will be better equation between occupation and personal life. Another vital cause for work-life imbalance is the increasing trend of nuclear families. Although such families are convenient to maintain, they reduce the family bonding with parents and other close relatives. In contrast, in the past, the joint-family culture prevailed, which demanded attention from working individuals in the family. This culture is missing in modern day life. The issue can be arrested by having a holiday trip with entire family. Accordingly, it will deviate the employee from work, leave him with good memories, and the professional will be rejuvenated to resume work. In conclusion, the reasons of high work pressure and smaller modern families are resulting in imbalance between work and personal life. However, with mastering the art of professionalism and taking time-off to spend with family will help to mitigate the problem.