Many people consider that film as a form of art is less important than paintings and literature.

Film is often looked down on as a less important art form in comparison with more elevated mediums like painting and literature. In my opinion, though the blatant commercialisation of film often undermines its claim to be art at all, it is a clearly more important art form for the 21st century. It is the only art form that is entertaining and can be easily comprehended. For example, the study made in Queensland University revealed that the majority of the students had a positive experience in watching a movie than visiting a museum. This happens due to the fact that it is not particularly difficult to interpret the art value in the movie and that the expression of emotion can be readily conveyed. In contrast, if a cinema is not a place of art, the only place that we can express our emotion is in the museum which is less interesting However, film has clearly overtaken other forms of art in the popular imagination. Hundreds of years ago, composers, playwrights, novelists, and painters were held in higher esteem and their works were the centre of popular culture. Music and film have now displaced them. Someone who would have become a great writer in the 19th century, would now opt to make films as they can reach the greatest number of people and the medium is newer and more open to possibility. A good example of this would be a young filmmaker like P. T. Anderson who creates thoughtful, explorative works that also have a degree of mass appeal. Furthermore, a film can be considered as a combination of several art forms. Unlike old forms of art namely literature, poems, paintings, and novels, a film combines some art medium such as performance art, visual art, and modern art making it a multi-art. For instance, in the recent UK survey, most of the respondents voted film watching as their favorite leisure time than reading novels. This clearly supports that film has been the most effective way of expressing art. In conclusion, film as an art form is ascendant today. It is, however, still important for audiences to tune in to a wide breadth of genres in order to encourage the film industry to remain vibrant and innovative.