Many people claim that unpaid voluntary work should be obligatory in high school curriculum. While it is true that this type of work can be beneficial in some extent, I would content that it should not be a requirement.

Many people claim that unpaid voluntary work should be obligatory in high school curriculum. While it is true that this type of work can be beneficial in some extent, I would content that it should not be a requirement. To begin with, there are several why unpaid community services should be added in the programs of high school. Firstly, when taking part in voluntary work, students can learn many skills. For example, , my 15-year-old younger brother usually participates in a voluntary program called “ beach cleaning” held by the local authority in summers, which gives him the chance to improve his teamwork skills by learning how to cooperate with other members in his team. Secondly, governments do not have to pay money for community activities carried out by volunteers. This allows governments to save a signifiant amount of money which could be invested in other critical sectors such as health services and transports. For example, instead of using a huge amount of money to employ trash treatment businesses, hundreds of students studying at my local high school participate in a weekly volunteer activity called “ beach cleaning”. However, I do not think high school student should be forced to take part in unpaid work for their community. Primarily, because there are many large projects and even big campains held in remote areas, students have to spend a huge amount of time on travelling and organizing these programs. This may lead to a reduction of learning time and even some students may be absent from school. As a result, their learning quality could be negatively impacted. In addition, there are currently many organizations take advantage of young volunteers to carry out community activities to serve their private purposes. Therefore, when becoming aware of these issues, people tend to have negative attitudes towards volunteer work, which means that community will lose a large number of volunteers in the future. In conclusion, while being involved in voluntary activities can be benefit to every student, I am in favour of being unpaid volunteers should not br required