Many people claim that several spacious public areas play a crucial role in all cities. While it is true that having various of these places can be beneficial in some extend, I would contend that it should not be a requirement.

Many people claim that several spacious public areas play a crucial role in all cities. While it is true that having various of these places can be beneficial in some extend, I would contend that it should not be a requirement. To begin with, there are several reasons why governments should build public zones for their residents. Firstly, because of a great amount of exhaust fumes from petrol-powered vehicles, the air in major cities has recently be seriously polluted. Therefore, large spaces with a great number of green trees planted in locations such as squares and parks may make a contribution to improving the air quality in these areas. For example, big trees in Central Park, located between the Upper West and Upper East Sides of Manhattan in NewYork, absorb more one million pounds of carbon dioxide and from the atmosphere and convert it into oxygen each year. This helps New Yorkers breathe a little easier. Secondly, spacious public areas can also be seen as tourism destinations. For instance, the glorious Red Square, located in Captial of Russia, listed in World Heritage Site by UNESCO, each year accepts millions of tourists who wish to learn about the history of Russia since the earliest times and admire various beautiful architectural structures. This boosts the local tourism industry, helping many countries’ economies to develop significantly. However, I think that not every cities and towns needs to build large spublic spaces for their senior citizens. Primarly, if governments spend a huge amounts of nation coffer building public spaces, there would be a lack of money poured into other important sectors such as health services and transports. As a result, these sectors can be held back from development, which prevents citizens from reaching higher living standard. For example, if healthcare receives poor investment, there would be fewer hospital built or new drugs and treatment methods researched. This could lead to a high risk of disease outbreaks spreading in communities. In addition, most public zones such as parks and squares tend to occupy a large area of land, which narrows space for other public structures such as hospitals, schools and accomodation systems. This has negative impacts on the life of residents who live nearby. In conclusion, while existence of public places can be benefit to every residents, I am in favour that these spaces should be required in all cities and town.