Many people choose to take a year out between finishing school and starting university in order to gain work or experience to travel. The experience of non-academic life thus offers benefits the individual when they return to education.

In recent years, there is a remarkable trend for young people to have a gap year before pursuing the higher level of education in this case entering university education. Some assert that university education is a study-level which tends to provide specialist knowledge for students. However, I personally believe that participating in a workplace or visiting other parts of countries will bring some benefits when they come to a university. Therefore, this essay will look into some reasons with some considerations. The first reason is that people have already preparations and knowledge about their study. They already gain some experiences, thus it enables them to cope with some problems faced at the university level. Moreover, for those who travel first will be more ready to pursue their study because they already throw out their burden even anxiety. They have a lot of energy since they have just come back from a beautiful journey. Another reason is that they are already mature enough to begin their study. They have set clear objective future planning about their life. As a consequent, they will more concern to reach their goal and try to do something related to their purposes. Moreover, by involving in workplace and travelling, they develop to be an independent person. Since they learn to solve problems on their own, thus they are more respected toward this life. It is true that people will readapt about the education condition since they spend much time in workplace or travelling. However, it is not a big problem for them as long as they tend to cope with it. They will be helped by their classmates, communities, even their own. They just need a short time to make it familiar. To sum up, to survive in higher education level, people need  background knowledge of their study. What they already obtain during that time will develop their character which poses a great help toward their study even society. As a result, it is true that experience is the best teacher for students.