Many people buy products that they do not really need and replace old products with new ones unnecessarily. Why do people buy things they do not really need? Do you think is a good thing?

In this day and age, people are increasingly purchasing more and more goods and changing their old items though they are still functioning, whilst some consumer societies lead people to not to be satisfied with what they have. There are several possible reasons behind this statement. This essay totally agrees with this phenomenon due to some main reasons and its unavoidable impacts on the society. To begin with, this unwise action occurs because of some reasons; especially, because of utilization habits, which is considered as the main reason. First and foremost, some people are rich and want to show off their wealth by all means, which inevitably leads them to be unsatisfied with their belongings. They are competing with others to prove who is richer and more successful. In China, for example, the period of a having mobile phone for an individual is around 1 or 3 years, which is actually a very short time. They are obsessed with buying a new brand. Partial reason to this circumstance is that generally Chinese think that the older version of what they have is already obsolete. Also, some Middle East countries have some wealthy people who are used to purchasing things with exorbitant prices, which they might never use in their lives. They mostly do this just because a friend or colleague of them have already bought the items. Thusly, it is not difficult to come to the conclusion that following the trend of consumption or feeling unsatisfied for most people in the society are caused by consumption frenzy. I personally do not approve of this curiosity. The tendency of replacing old products with new ones has some main negative impacts on the people and on their community. Spending money on unwanted things can urge people to be in debt and poverty. It has been observed that social media plays a major role in spreading information across the society, by which some of the ignorant people are influenced very easily. For instance, people are prone to change their clothes or cars as soon as there is a launch of a new trend and models in the market instead of shopping for their daily needs. Also, buying unnecessary things prompt to waste products, which in turn causes fresh water reserves, fish stocks and forests to get dirty and many species get under the threat of extinction. Therefore, unfortunatly, people do not recognize the severe impacts of overconsumption on the their budget and environment. To sum up everything that has been stated so far, it is clear that purchasing useless things to show off the wealth and influential media are the key factors that contribute to the meanless trend of replacing old items with the new ones and in light of the effects of overconsumption on the people's economy and environment, some serious maesures need to be urgently taken if we are to save our world.