Nowadays people waste a lot of food that was bought from shops and restaurants. Why do you think people waste food? What can be done to reduce the amount of food they throw away? Give reasonsfor your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience. 250 words minimum.

Nowadays people waste a lot of food that was bought from shops and restaurants. Why do you think people waste food? What can be done to reduce the amount of food they throw away? Give reasonsfor your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience. 250 words minimum. In some parts of the word, food is still highly valued. In urban areas, however, particularly in the developed world, food waste is becoming major concern. This essay will examine the causes of this problem and suggest ways that people can curb the amount that they discard. Two main factor are behind the rise in food waste. The first is the rising incomes of the population which has meant higher disposable incomes. In other words, whereas 50 years ago, the average family had around $50 per month to spend on food and entertainment, now the figure is more like $2000, and so the idea of buying something and not consuming it is unremarkable. The second factor, linked to the first, is the motern throw-away culture in which all products are treated as disposable. Since it is not uncommon to find valuable household items throw in the bin, it is also unsurprising to see half the familiy's groceries binned without concern. Tackling this issue inveolve altering the public's mindset. This needs to happen via awareness-raising campaigns. The ABC, for instance, launched one such initiative with the War on Waste TV series and website in 2016, which presented troubling facts on the effects of our consumption and waste. Given the profondous impact of this series on the Australian public, it would be worth expand it on a global scale. In addition to warning people about the environment impact of food wastage, such projects could also educate they better on practical matters such as shopping smarter and storing food correctly. In conclusion, unless efforts are made to shift the public consciousness, this problem will only escalate. While governments have a critical role to play, individuals too need to take responsability for their shopping habits in order to cut down on wasted food.