Many people believe that zoos have no purpose in today’s world and should be closed. What problems do zoos bring? What are the alternatives to zoos if they are closed?

Exhibiting animals in the zoo is a common phenomina and it has been maintained and controlled by governments. Due to extinction of some species many animal lovers think zoos must completely shutdown and animals should be freed in to the wild or sanctuarys. Today we will discuss several problems of zoos and also talk about alternatives if they close in the future. There are as many as hundreds of species of wild animals are displayed in the zoos in every country. In some countries due to poor maintenance and lack of food supply some species are dying from disease and starved to death. In addition, animals get sick when seasonal changes takes place especially in the hot summer. For instance, In africa some animals are not protected by authorities when temperature reaches high as 45 degree centigrade, as a result animals suffer from sun stroke and exhausted due to heat waves. Thus, animals cannot survive in zoo if there is no proper maintenace, temperature and food is provided. There are some alternatives to zoos where we can protect various animal species and promote tourism. Firstly, Freeing animals in to national parks and sanctuary will improve population of species. Allowing safari tour brings a new experience for the people to enjoy the nature and the revenue generated can be used for animal protection. Secondly, animals in captivity helps to prolong their life. for example, an elephant can live in the wild for about 60 to 70 years, when it is in the captivity we can protect their life to 90-100 years approximatly. Thus, when compared to zoo, national parks are the best alternative for protecting animals. In conclusion, zoos might be closed in the future due to improper maintanance, but there is always an alternative to protect animals from human negligence so, I believe national parks and sanctuarys are the best places to preserve endangered species.