Many people believe that zoos have no purpose in today’s world and should be closed. What problems do zoos bring? What are the alternatives to zoos if they are closed?

Zoos are one of the places where children learn the world of Animal Kingdom. But, nowadays some people think that zoos have no reason to exist. Despite of the benefits that zoo can bring, it brings more drawbacks like destroying ecosystem and animal exploitation. This essay will discuss the drawbacks of zoos and what can be the substitute if they are closed. Firstly, Animals are naturally found in the wild but since they become captive in a small establishment for entertainment or education purposes, they become dependent on humans for giving them food, thus destroying the balance of the ecosystem. For example these wild animals like lions and tigers are born to be predators. They hunt for their own food and removing vulnerable preys like the old, injured and sick. It will make them control the size of prey population thus, maintaining healthy and balance ecosystem. Another disadvantage of zoo is that they struggle to make profits, making the welfare of the animals poor. If the company does not have enough income, they will have a hard time to sustain the needs of the animals like food and shelter. It takes great money to maintain animals in good physical environment. Since some zoos are having a hard time to support the daily expenses for their operation, it may be a reason for the closure of the business. These facilities are tool for the learning of the students for the animal world. If the zoos will be closed, Government should make another way on how these children will learn. They can open a 3D museum where no animals will be held captive and it will not destroy the ecosystem. It is also better if Government will maintain the natural habitat of these animals and will make safari. In this case animals can run free and still can live with their natural behaviors. Zoos still exist and the problems involving them still continue. These animals need to be taken care of directly or indirectly. People should protect the nature and give these animals the right to live free in the wild where they belong.