Many people believe that university students should study a full range of subjects instead of some specific subjects with this viewpoint

Many local businesses are impacted due to the arrival of supermarkets in many developed and developing countries. People believe that these kind of establishment will kill the local communities. In this essay, I will discuss about the reasons for the existence of such markets and how it impacts other local vendors in the society. Firstly, such markets exists on a large scale in the metro cities where it is densely populated. Due to the massive development in technology in many countries, people tend to migrate from their native for a better lifestyle and this results in overcrowding. Shop owners tend to open or expand their stores in such areas where they can achieve high profits in a short time. Secondly, these shops will sell their products at a higher margin, which might not be affordable to many consumers in the community. Despite these cost differences, many customers are attracted due to the convenience it offers in choosing a product. Mostly all supermarkets and hypermarkets these days accept digital payments which is another benefit for people looking for a quick checkout. Local owners are finding it very difficult to compete with them due to various aspects such as ignorance in technology, financial limitations, rising living standards etc. . . On the other hand, suppliers are benefitting from these large markets where they can supply more products which can yield good returns. Most of the local business are occupying the rental premises and due to the increasing demands in rent, they are facing issues in expanding their stores to include more products. Thus, people prefer going to one store where they can buy most of their items. Such shopping comfort will definitely destroy the local vendors. To conclude, the government should take proper measure to regulate these supermarkets in terms of size, cost and expansion. I firmly believe that overcrowding is the major cause for the growth of these markets. Companies and industries should be widely distributed across the nation to facilitate the growth of local business.