Many people believe that there should be a curfew law so that people under the age of 18 are not out past midnight.

Teenage curfews have always been a widely debated topic throughout history. According to a majority of individuals, enacting a curfew is imperative so that teenagers are not allowed to stay out beyond midnight. I absolutely concur with the above assertion as it will safeguard adolescents and instill ethical values in them for better development. The following essay will substantiate my view. To begin with, juvenile curfew laws have become a pervasive and popular strategy to combat juvenile delinquency. They are less likely to commit crimes and to be victimized if they are not on the streets during odd hours. As the night progresses, adults are less likely to be out, and those who are, might be involved in various criminal activities since shady dealings and bad things occur at night. Taking New Orleans as an example, the rate of adolescents offense was reported to fall more than 20% in 1994, when a dusk-till-dawn curfew was imposed. This represents a simple and effective strategy for curbing juvenile offending by keeping would-be delinquents off the streets and at home. Furthermore, a child may not be involved in any wrong activity or engage in an event that leads to trouble, but can still be affected by someone using alcohol and drugs. To elaborate further, an article published in The Arab News stated that drunken driving accidents are more likely to occur during night due to reckless driving. Moreover, a curfew inculcates ethical values in teenagers. It instills sense of responsibility and awareness amongst them. If a youngster values the restriction that means he understands the importance of it and its effect on society which helps him in becoming a responsible adult. To conclude, it is often believed that implementation of curfew is necessary to prevent youngsters to go out after midnight. I believe a restriction not only develops values in teens but also helps in protecting them by keeping them away from perilous situations.