Writing Task 2 in UZ — 05. 06. 2021 *Today digital technology allows people to share all aspects of their daily lives on social media. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is true that people now can share everything about their day-to-day lives on social media thanks to technological developments. In my view, this new development could be seen as both positive and negative. On the one hand, there are multiple benefits of people sharing every detail of their daily lives on social media platforms. For a start, people can find out about other people who share the same interest and therefore make new friends online. Furthermore, you have the chance to build up a huge following and generate revenue from your audience by selling ads. At the same time, people could ask for all kinds of support from others on social media when faced with tough times. For instance, a person can reach out to his or her followers and ask them for advice on how to cope with the difficulties in his or her life. On the other hand, openly sharing our everyday lives on social media comes with its many drawbacks. Firstly, by sharing too much personal information, we run the risk of exposing ourselves to potential harm. People with ill-intentions could use our private details online for nefarious ends and put us under undesirable circumstances. Secondly, people are likely to be depressed by the ‘fake lives’ they constantly encounter on social media. Finally, using social media can be highly addictive and act as a substitute for our in-person interactions with other individuals, which would certainly lead to social isolation. In conclusion, it is my opinion that the growing trend towards social media use in much of the world should be viewed both positively and negatively.