Many people believe that the best way to educate children is to teach them a wide range of subjects instead of only what they like.

It is opined by many people that children should study a wide range of subjects instead of learning whatever they enjoy. From my perspective, I completely agree with this statement, and this essay aims to elaborate my viewpoint with valid reasons. A compelling justification which supports my arguments is that teaching students different subjects at school can help them have comprehensive knowledge. This is because each subject can help children to access different aspects of knowledge. For instance, Mathematics can help children improve their ability to calculate, or Biology can provide information about plants and animals in nature. If children study just the subjects they like, they may not be able to perceive the fundamental knowledge in their life. Therefore, children should be educated in a wide range of subjects. Another reason worth mentioning is that studying a variety of subjects can help children improve their ability to apply their knowledge in practice. To explain, subjects are closely related to each other so learning many subjects can help children have an overview of things and phenomena. For example, when children read a literary work, they may be able to infer from historical, geographical and even scientific knowledge, then they can understand thoroughly the content of the reading. In conclusion, it is my firm conviction that it is good for students to learn many subjects at school in order to have general knowledge and develop their ability to apply their knowledge in practice.