Many people believe that social networking sites(such as Facebook)have had a huge impact on both the individuals and society?

Social networking services are online platforms for people to build their social networks or a following of other people who share same personal interests. However, some people believe that these social media platforms have had a pessimistic impact on both humans and societies. Whereas, I believe that its benefits outweigh its disadvantages. To begin with, the impact that social media has had on each individual is a big advantage. Firstly, people from different culture, countries are brought together with social media sites such as Facebook. Earlier, when there was no internet and social networking platforms people have had rare chances to meet someone from a different culture and had a rare opportunity to communicate with them. Secondly, Facebooks gives us the advantage to form online groups and gives us the chance to connect and communicate with people who share similar interests. On the other hand, the impact which Facebook and other social networking sites have had on the local communities can only be seen in a negative way. Because, people prefer involving online with others, rather than taking part in their local communities. Consequently, these days people do not have strong relationships with each other. furthermore, so cities are becoming disjointed and fragmented as more and more people socializing online, instead of doing it in-person. To conclude, although social networking sites have brought people from different countries together, but it has not the similar impact on the local communities and societies.