Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society.

It is a common belief that social media sites such as Facebook, Twitter and Instagram are negatively affecting people. While this is true to a certain extent, I am of the opinion that social media can be highly advantageous to use. This essay will discuss how merits of using such sites overrule the drawbacks. Firstly, human beings are social by nature and there is a strong need to be connected with other individuals such as family members and friends. Most of us are busy with our careers and studies, so cannot meet our loved ones in person, yet we can be in contact through the internet. For instance, when I was on a youth exchange program in the UK, I felt very homesick and with the help of whatsapp I was always in touch with my family in India. This amazing connectivity that is provided by such sites is a boon in such cases. Secondly, such sites are educative and entertaining. For example, there are several DIY projects, room makeovers, shopping hauls and recipes that can be shared and watched all over the world. So we can cook up an italian dish or learn a new language irrespective of where we live. In conclusion, these sites should be used responsibly and there must be adherence to the law that requires individuals and groups to maintain decorum and not abuse or degrade any person or community. There might be certain negative aspects like misleading information or dare-devil acts propogated on the internet but with adequate vigilance by parents and government such incidents can be avoided. So, clearly the numerous benefits prevail over the demerits of social networking sites.