Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society.

The advent of social networking sites like Facebook and Instagram have transformed our world significantly. Some people think that these sites have had a detrimental effect on individuals as well as community. However, I believe that such sites are mainly beneficial for individuals, I agree with whom that assert such online sites have had a harmful impact on the local community. With regards to individuals, online social media have had a profound impact on every person. By applying these online applications or sites people can get familiar with other people who live around the world without travelling to other countries and spending money. In addition, everybody can make other friends with different cultures and also can share common interests with each other. Conversely, in the past individual had rarely a chance to find friends worldwide easily. So, they had to travel abroad for making friends or getting familiar with various cultures and traditions. On the other hand, Facebook and other types of online social media not only have not had any beneficial effect on the community but also it has caused the society has become more fragmented and disjointed. It means that people instead of taking part in their local community activity, prefer to spend their time with others who are online. Then, individuals don’t have any tendency for communication with local people in the society. Consequently, the community is becoming fragmented because people tend to allocate their time with people that have not seen them before. In conclusion, I think that social networking sites have a beneficial effect on person because can help them to find new friends around the world and also can gain experience about various life styles globally. While, I believe that social media have harmful impact on community.