More shops are open for longer hours

It is nowadays observed that more and more shops are open for longer hours everyday. It has become a trend in some countries especially the country which I live in i. e UAE. In my opinion there are both positive and negative implications for opening the shops for longer hours. By keeping the shop open for longer hours there is more opportunity window for the shop owners for customers to come in and shop for their daily needs and requirements. This may increase the daily sales and in turn may increase the revenue. Also it provides opportunity for the employees to work extra and get paid overtime in addition to their salaries. Further it provides the customers more flexibility to go for shopping at their convenient timing, especially for the working class couples who work at odd shifts at their work. They neither have to be worried that shop will close at particular time slot nor they need to be in a hurry while shopping thinking the shop might close early in the evening. Shopping for them will become at their leisure time and enjoyable activity. However there might be possibilities of shop running into losses. If the number of customers remain the same even in extended hours they owner need to spend more money into operating cost. All the utilities bills like electricity and consumables will add on the operating cost. Also the overtime wages paid to the employees should be justified and if the revenues don’t increase then it will be good for the business. To conclude the shop owners must do a survey with the customers and market to make the business more profitable and in most of the markets it is observed that opening for longer hours is beneficial to the owners. Hence in some countries we see that more and more shops are open for longer working hours.