Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

It is common opinion that social network websites and apps have worsen our lives, both individually and in terms of our society. I am convinced that the use of social medias have had serious negative effects on all of us and in this essay I will explain the reasons why. Since the advent of websites, such as Facebook, Instagram and TikTok, we are spending an almost exponential time online, compared to a few years ago. These sites make us believe we are more social and connected, however, in my opinion, it is quite the opposite. In fact, I believe that the quality of communication online has significantly decreased over the last 15 years. Through social media mechanisms, such as the so-called “infinite scrolling”, we keep refreshing our Instagram or Twitter pages without having really perception of the time spent glued to our computers and phones. At the same time, the significant interactions and conversations, both online and offline, are dropping replaced by useless actions, like adding a “like” to our friend’s photo or an emoticon. Furthermore, a rising number of studies and researches are showing how social of social networking sites are responsible for depression and other mental issues, for example, bulimia and anorexia, particularly among adolescents. For instance, a recent Netflix documentary analysed the data about suicide and online bullying. The results were absolutely disheartening and demonstrated an evident connection between the use of social medias and these sad trends. The perpetual need of being online, together with this mad competition to portray ourselves more glamourous, more fun, and more well-travelled, have unfortunately made us only lonelier and sadder. In conclusion, I believe we are all increasingly experiencing the dark side of social medias and this has a detrimental effect on us as individuals, creating more mental diseases, but also on our society, depriving us of quality time with our families and friends.