Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society.

We now live in a digital era where the conventional ways of communications have been completely replaced by social media sites. Social media platforms, such as Facebook and Instagram, have gained considerable popularity among people in the last decade. Some people are now arguing that the social sites invasion has a drastically negative effect on both the individuals and the society. Although there are many drawbacks that came with the introduction of social media, I strongly agree that the benefits are to surplus the disadvantages. Social media networks can be so beneficial if used properly by individuals. While physical meetings are sometimes not possible, social sites can be used to virtually connect people with their loved ones. Moreover, they can keep individuals alerted of what is occurring around them. For example, I just moved to a new city and I am fully aware of the events that are taking place around me, thanks to Facebook. In addition to the social side of these benefits, Social websites can help individuals grow professionally as well. This is made possible because of all the career events and job postings that are advertised periodically. Not only that social media sites can have some remarkable benefits on individuals, but they can also have more value to the society. Sharing public opinion about current issues, reporting incidents and spreading awareness through digital campaigns are just few examples of how social media can be enormously beneficial to the society. For example, Egypt has successfully planned a revolution solely through using Facebook. If it was not for Facebook, the country could have been still suffering of dictatorship till this day. In conclusion, social media networks can be viewed as a double-edged weapon. Despite having obvious negative impacts, their gain still dominates. In my opinion, I strongly disagree that social media networks are of bad impact to the individuals and the society.