Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society.

There is a contentious argument over whether social media platforms are affecting people and societies negatively. From my point of view, I strongly agree with this perspective due to various reasons related to how time-consuming it can be, and its impact on families’ financial status. The major reason why I agree with the statement that social networking sites can cause us to harm more than good is how addictive they can be. Companies use special algorithms to provide the users with what may grab their attention. Therefore, whenever we start scrolling in Instagram, Facebook, or Tik Tok, we find it very hard to leave our phones and continue working on what we should do. In a nutshell, wasting our time on social media is the first reason for the decrease in our productivity level as individuals as well as societies. Another reason why I support the notion is due to the fact that it can make families spend more than what really need. And that has the ability to raise the percentage of poor people in societies. To elaborate more, most companies are using artificial intelligence technology to spy and listen to the conversations the users are having. As well as analyzing their search history. They use these methods to control the advertisements users are seeing. So they can increase the income of the company. For instance, we have all noticed that we are continuously getting advertisements for those pair of virtual reality glasses we were thinking of buying. And it doesn’t stop until we actually buy them. To put in concisely, I completely agree that social networking sites are affecting us negatively as people and societies where it’s a waste of both time and money. Given this situation, it seems that we shouldn’t be spending a long time on social media platforms. But instead, using our time more wisely, taking care of our privacy, and trying not to get affected by all the advertisements we see.