Are more people buying products from advertisement

Advertisments are all around us and it is showed using numerous medias. This leads some people to believe that it has successfully attract more customers to purchase more item. However, there are some who also believe that the ubiquitous nature of advertisments makes people to ignore it whenever they see one. This essay will provide a discussion about both of these perspective and bring forward my own opinion. It is undeniable that advertisments are everywhere and this makes people no longer care about it. The reason behind this is that people usually do other things when they are shown with an advertisment. For instance, during commerical breaks, the viewers typically will play with their phone or go and take a toilet break. On mobile applications such as youtube, the advertisment causes the viewer to feel disturbed and they usually will press the 'skip ad' button quickly and ignore the product that is being advertised. This shows that commericals are not getting the users attention anymore. In contrast, with the rise of more sophisticated technology, products have a higher chance to be bought by customers. Social medias that rely on product advertising as their source of revenue uses complex algorithms to showcase their business partner's product. For example, facebook is able to mine data about a user and then display specific products that are suitable with the user's profile. Consequently, this approach generates the highest revenue for the advertisers due to higher number of items sold. In my opinion, advertisments are successful to persuade more people to buy more things. Personally, I had bought a pair of sneakers from an online marketplace because it was shown on facebook's ads. In conclusion, technology has successfully increase the profit of businesses. However, it can only increase its profits if the customers care about the advertistments that is shown to them.