Many people believe that social networking sites ( such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. v. 124

Social networking sites are becoming increasingly popular. However, it is argued that they adversely affected the society as a whole as well as individuals. While I strongly believe that these sites have been beneficial to individuals, they have definitely harmed local communities. It is no doubt that social media websites have been advantageous to individuals for various reasons. First and foremost, they are now used as a method of communication. For instance, Facebook has made it easier to get in touch with people from all over the world since you have the opportunity to check their profiles and even their interests. Surprisingly, researchers claimed that over 30% of today’s relationships are a result of meeting on the social networking sites. Not only is Facebook used as a way to communicate, but it is also used as a source of information as people’s profiles usually contain most of their information, such as marital status, birth date, education and many other data. As a result, it is easy to know almost everything you want about a specific person without awkwardly asking them. Although these reasons are favourable for individuals, the impact on society is the total opposite. Quite on the contrary, local communities are suffering from the drawbacks of these websites. Unfortunately, societies nowadays appear to be fragmented, where each person prefers to contact people online, in lieu of meeting them face to face. Consequently, relationships within the society are rarely found, which indeed has created an unsociable environment. To conclude, individuals are experiencing positive effects because of social networking sites. On the other hand, it is worth noting that the effects on the society is hazardous and needs corrective actions to avoid having a completely disjointed community.