Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society.

From the start of 21st century social networking sites have been a part of almost everyone's daily life. According to many people such websites have bad effects on society. This essay will argue that websites like Facebook may have some negatives, but this doesn't hide the fact that these sites are very useful. A large number of people consider social networking sites bad for the society but what makes them think this way? After the evolution of Facebook people have started being in touch mostly through it and they rarely see each other in person as well as they have started spending more time in front of screens which gradually is affecting people's health. For example, a study showed that in 1998 an average person's time spent in front of computer screen daily was 57 minutes where as in 2008 it rose dramatically to 2 hours and 45 minutes. This is the proof that social networking sites have affected almost every individual's daily routine. Although the people against social networking sites may have valid reasons the fact that these sites have helped improve the communication can't be left unseen. Nowadays people can interact, share important data and advertise through an online social network in a matter of seconds, which makes it a lot easier and quicker for individuals and businesses to work. For instance, according to a well known business magazine a product gets 3 times more exposure when advertised on social network sites as compared to a newspaper or television. Online social networks have proven to be very useful for individuals and businesses both. This essay argued that people against Facebook and other such sites have a flawed understanding of the concept of online social networking. In my opinion, these sites have been a revolution in communication and marketing and can be used for uncountable benefits despite having some negative impacts.