Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individual and society. To what extent do you agree?

Socialising online is great fun and a trend these days. It can be beneficial but at the same time, it may prove fatal as well. I partially agree that use of social sites, like Facebook, can adversely impact a person or the community. In On one hand, the networking on social websites helps people to be connected and know what's happening in one’s world, as it is an easy way of staying in touch with one another. For instance, I met one of my graduation friends on Facebook almost after almost twelve years. I tried all my sources to find him before, but only this helped. On the other hand, this showcases your personal life in front of public or people whom you probably do not know. Some can become jealous or some would and think you are showing off. Additionally, children can get addicted and attracted to some of these networking sites. For example, in 2016, 18 children died playing a game called ‘Blue Whale’ on Facebook, which basically motivates and encourages you to do dangerous activities like suicide. Moreover, your personal data and profile can be leaked or processed by an external entity for their own use. There has have been incidents where profile pictures were downloaded and then used unethically. A good illustration on example of this is the latest news of data leak by a company called ‘Cambridge Analytica’ where they which stole Facebook user’s data and sold it to many companies and political parties. In conclusion, one should limit the use of social sites just to browse and connecting to friends rather than divulging their personal information to anyone. Authorities and government should try and regulate the content so that it is not exposed to wider public or business entities. If necessary steps are not taken, then I agree to some extent that this can negatively affect a person or the society.