Around the world, children learn English as a second language at school. However, in some places, they also learn at kindergarten (pre-school care, when children are aged two to five). Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of learning English at kindergarten.

English is one of the most popular international languages of the world. It is taught in Schools in many countries as an important second language. In some parts of the non English speaking countries, it starts as soon as the children join their pre-nursery at the tender age of two or three. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of this situation and present the idea that while it is crucial to learn English but it can be done when the child is around seven or eight. Supporters of teaching English at nursery school believe that early introduction will produce more proficient speakers. Secondly, parents who are keen to give their child a head start in an increasingly competitive world, favour this idea. They think that if English is combined with play, it will be easily absorbed. On the flip side, linguists claim that a child needs to be literate in his or her own language before another is begun. Secondly, kindergarten teachers might not be competent, which means that children could be cramming few words only, such as, ‘Hello’ ‘Good Morning’, numbers or colours. All of these could be learnt very quickly at a later age. Thirdly, there is the issue that kindergartens provide ‘English’ more as a marketing tool than an educational one. It could merely be a status symbol that a child is learning English at the age of three. To conclude, play school is a time to acquire social skills, motor skills, and a deeper understanding the mother tongue. English can come later when the child is more capable of focused learning at a mature age. In the highly aggressive world, a child is likely to be lost soon; it is recommended therefore to let him or her enjoy early childhood without stress.