In many countries it is becoming increasingly popular to learn about one's family history. Why is this happening? Is it a positive or negative development?

Exploring family history has turned into trend in numerous countries around the world. In my opinion, learning family history is valuable for future generations due to the fact that this way will be known more information, traditions and culture thereby useful and beneficial information can be found for people’s future. On the one hand, the comprehension of the history of the family can give a piece of advice for difficult choices or can inspire. Sometimes, looking into the history of their ancestors the younger generation understands that it is in their blood and decides to follow in their footsteps. For instance, some people feel lack of direction in life so by learning more about their past family story they can find out who they are and also, they may feel comforted knowing that one of their family members made the same choice many years ago. Moreover, it is interesting to learn how many others in their family shares these talents from previous generation. In other words, looking into their family history teenagers can discover any common trends with family members of a previous generation. Furthermore, some families moved abroad, they were away from their own countries, generations ago that influenced the loss of original culture. Therefore, through research, people can learn more about their homeland and understand more about the culture that their family originally came from. On the other hand, there are some negative aspects of the trend. Exploring their own family make them more family-oriented person. Children want to become their parent’s pride and joy and of course they do not want to become black sheep of the family. As a result, they can not break the circle and may choose their profession just because it is profession that goes from generation to generation, forgetting about their dreams. In conclusion, it is a favorable development to learn family history. It will help people to find out where their roots come from and get to know their family better.