Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge impact on both individuals and society.

Social media sites such as Facebook, Snapchat, Twitter etc were created for the purpose of sharing snippets of a person's daily life and connecting with new people. I feel that such social networking sites have a detrimental effect on people's life, but needles to say that there are many advantages too. One of the biggest negative impact of social networking sites is that people have forgotten to live in the present. People capture photos, videos wherever they go, whatever they see be it visiting a restaurant or travelling by the mountains. Capturing memories is good but one must not overdo it. For example when a group of friends meet a restaurant for dinner after the food arrives people start clicking photos of it and upload them on social networking sites. And after some time they are busy checking their photos or chatting with other people on their smart phones. On the other side there are many advantages of social networking sites. They allow us to connect and share ideas with new people of different countries, origins, ideologies etc. They help people in their tough times. Linkedin is an example of such social networking site where people make connections and companies post their job openings. The site has helped many people find their dream jobs and even helped many people who have lost their jobs find new ones. To conclude each social networking site has its own advantages and disadvantages. One must learn to use it in a wise manner and to his/her own advantage.