Some people think that in the modern world we are more dependent on each other, while others think that people have become more independent

Nowadays, some people believe that the modernization has contributed to increased dependence among people, whereas others think that the main purpose of evolution is to become more independent. This essay will discuss both the opposing sides including my personal opinion on given topic. Due to globalization, a term which describes how interpersonal relations have been intensified through the past decades, several people have the right to think that mankind has become more dependent on each other. People seem to be more connected than before because of the changes in various aspects of everyday life such as work, babysitting, nutrition etc. For instance, we rely on farmers to provide us with basic groceries. Aditionally, we rely on babysitters to take care of our children and schools to educate them and prepare children for life in the adult world. Dependence is noticed especially in people’s interactions in work area since the jobs are now more specialised and the team work is needed. Knowing this, we can easily conclude that, in a way, we are more dependent than before. However, there is also a second opinion regarding level of dependence in modern world. Throughout history, people have fought for independence through revolutions to gain basic civil rights and freedom of speech. Thanks to our ancestors, we have democracy and more rights than we had before. At the age of eighteen, children are legally independent and they can choose what they want to do with their life regarding education, desired jobs, hobbies etc. To illustrate, we are able to decide in which school we want to go, which courses we want to attend, what we want to do with our free time and we have freedom to choose our life partners whether they are males or females. Similarly, we are less dependent on our parents and extended family. In conclusion, there are opposite views regarding this topic and both have strong arguments on their sides. No matter which side we choose, we can never tell which opinion is “right” because it would turn into never-ending argument. In my personal opinion, we are more independent since we have power to do what we want with our own life.